Styling the PopBasic Ashbury: Take 1

The idea to PopBasic is that you own these staple pieces to build your wardrobe.

I’ve been brought up with the mantra of buying what you can mix and match. It not only makes travelling easier, it makes planning your outfits a lot more fun as well. Buying an expensive dress all of a sudden is justifiable because you can wear it every week, styled differently and no one is the wiser. Cost per wear takes a dip. Well, at least that’s what I tell myself when I see yet another DVF dress that I MUST own.

It’s no surprise that I am absolutely in love with PopBasic and what it believes in.

The next collection to be released will comprise of a black tank, a leather skirt and a necklace – all of which I’ll post in the next few days to come. This very first styling is something I would wear on a casual weekend out. In fact, I raked my brains to pull out items already in my wardrobe to get this to work. So, all of these items bar the black tank and necklace are from my existing wardrobe.

I practically live in jeans on weekends so it’s only natural that I’ve pulled out my most favourite (so favourite I own both in the identical cut and colour) jeans by JBrand. They’re ankle jeans and they fit my midget height perfectly. I picked a dark wash because you can’t go wrong in them.

Ever since I’ve taken the plunge into the world of interchangeable buckles and leather straps of H belt kits, I’ve felt my outfits seem a lot more pulled-together with a belt. Yes, the H belt kits are crazily-extravagant but the idea is to use a belt that will help add touches to the outfit. I deliberately picked the gold H buckle as well because I’ve always loved contrasting coloured hardware. I’m also adding a little bit of rock chic to the outfit by strapping on the Collier de Chien in the classic Hermes orange with gold hardware. See what I mean by contrasting coloured hardware? The pop of colour also adds a little bit of interest to an otherwise typical Melburnian (read: black) outfit.

I chose the Jypsiere that I can wear crossbody to leave my hands free should I need to have my hands full tasting wine and sampling cheeses. The palladium hardware goes with the silver of the necklace and contrasts with the gold from the belt buckle and CDC bracelet. And, finally, comfortable flats should I need to be on my feet for hours. I picked my black patent Varinas by Ferragamo. They are by far some of the most comfortable flats I’ve ever had the pleasure to own.

The beauty of this outfit is that it is perfect for transseasonal weather Melbourne seems to be going through. Shrug into a woollen cardigan when the temperature dips and add a colourful silk scarf if it dips further and layer a blazer over if it dips even more. The possibilities are absolutely endless!

Stay tuned for the next styling where the outfit will take you from day-to-night. I’ve built it with my work and lifestyle in mind but to be honest, it will work on practically anyone!

ashbury 1

One thought on “Styling the PopBasic Ashbury: Take 1

  1. Loving all your styling with the Ashbury skirt. I have to admit…I didn’t get the skirt, as much as I would have loved to. A) I only wanted the skirt B) I wouldn’t have had much wear of the skirt – I mean, hello teaching rounds, why would I want to mess up that skirt?! Plus…broke y’all.

Leave a Reply

